Wien Modern IV | A Private Vastness

Michael Hersch treats his audience to an 11-hour concert at Wien Modern.

Michael Hersch’s sew me into a shroud of leaves is the longest piece of music I have ever listened to. A chamber work in the form of a trilogy ‒ for solo piano, then cello-horn duo, then solo piano again ‒ it is 11 hours long. The Wien Modern concert took an entire day, beginning before dawn at five in the morning, and ending well after sunset, at eight.

“It took a long time to find the right space for such a piece,” said Bernhard Günther, the music director of Wien Modern. “Above all, it needed to be a place where people could come and go.” Yes, not even true believers (aka new music fanatics) sit still that long. A concert hall wouldn’t do; no matter how you redefine the rules, someone walking around such a hall is irritating at best and disrespectful at worst. Günther came up with the perfect solution: a library. People know how to behave in libraries – tread quietly, whisper. And he did not choose just any library ‒ he rented the Nationalbibliothek’s Prunksaal.

I admit, I only went to this marathon out of curiosity. Also because the Prunksaal, with its glorious baroque splendor, 29-meter-high frescoed cupola and 200,000 leather-bound books on row after row of massive and ornate shelves is one of my favorite rooms “in the whole world,” as they say.

But it was a phenomenal concert. At the end, I had new hope for the entire future of music. Someone is still using it as a means for expressing profound emotions.

Hersch is from Washington, DC, and Saturday’s little band also consisted of exceptional American players ‒ pianists Jacob Rhodebeck and Jason Hardink, cellist Mariel Roberts and hornist Jamie Hersch (the composer’s brother). That also left me hopeful about music and musicians in the US. Such dedicated endurance and invested time is surely not motivated solely by capital gain.

Sew me into a shroud of leaves is intensely private, despite its vastness. In three movements made up of seven “books,” each of these divided into some twenty “chapters,” the work seems to mirror the vastness of life and its own chapters, whether measured in years or days or minutes. In the score these sections are headed by fragments of poems by Christopher Middleton, W.G. Sebald and Marius Kociejowski, a sub-text giving clues not only to Hersch’s inspiration, but also to the veiled and intimate story he is perhaps telling.

Technically speaking, Hersch uses a consistent musical language here: expressive intervals such as minor tenths or falling seconds, repeated motives, snatches of tonal progressions twisting away into atonality, melodies unwinding in clear, slow steps interrupted by sudden violent high-speed outbursts of cascading clusters. Many passages abruptly halt before reaching the final note, as if cut off in mid-flight, indeed, as if imitating life itself, with its losses and unresolved passions, the important words unsaid, the relationships left incomplete.

It was an exceptional, long journey, this concert that began in the night and ended in the same. As the huge room darkened, a weary yet tender poignancy emerged, an effect that one might call spiritual. When leaving, the profanity of the city streets hit me hard.

Cynthia Peck
Cynthia Peck is originally from Southern California, but she does not miss the sun. She lived in Tokyo for a decade, and she does miss the food. Now the Konzerthaus and Musikverein are her main living rooms, as are a few select restaurants around town. Trained in Vienna as a professional cellist, she also works at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, translates and edits lots of books about Buddhist epistemology and Austrian history, and is thinking about apprenticing as a chef. What she enjoys most is writing about music.

Help us help you

“Strong media and independent journalism are built on the shoulders of subscribers. Your support means the world to us.

Benjamin Wolf
COO & Managing Editor

The coronavirus outbreak affects and challenges your life in big and small ways. Metropole is here for you and we are proud to be your news source during this crisis.

But just as the coronavirus has increased the need for independent journalism, it has also undercut a major revenue source of media companies, ours included – advertising.

We need your support to keep it up – donate or subscribe and #helpushelpyou!

Support Metropole!


RECENT Articles

Coronavirus in Austria & Vienna | Vienna Introduces Gastrolist

The coronavirus has arrived in Austria. Here’s all you need to know about current measures, including where to get help, information and tips – updated regularly.

Torches on the Hill – Ultra-Conservatives March on the Kahlenberg

The Kahlenberg Church stands where an allied army gathered at dawn September 12, 1683 before sweeping down from the hills to break the Turkish siege of Vienna. Today it is both a cause for celebration and a rallying point for dubious arch-conservative fringe groups.

In Safety and Freedom, Romanian Entrepreneurs Found Success in Vienna

Romanians’ entrepreneurial spirit, long suppressed under the communist regime, is experiencing a renaissance – it can be felt even in Vienna.

SALONFÄHIG – Austrian Vintages That Hold Their Own Anywhere

The annual Wine Salon in Palais Coburg presented a tough jury's selection of the best of the current year. The setting was magnificent, the wines too.

COVID in High Places: Star Director Robert Dornhelm Tests Positive After VIP Eve...

“Freud” director Marvin Kren steps in for leading Austrian filmmaker, who remains ill following an Aug 18 diagnosis and an elite reception at Grafenegg.

The Out of Control Fringes

At a protest against coronavirus restrictions in Vienna, far-right extremists put on a homophobic display in front of a cheering crowd, while drawing outrage from the Greens.


Join over 5,000 Metropolitans, who already get monthly news updates and event invitations.